Book Awards

The NWT Writers’ Society offers two annual book awards that recognize the best the NWT has to offer. Established in 2010 the NorthWords Book award recognizes an outstanding book, set in the North and published by an NWT author in the previous year. In 2017, with funding from NT Power Corporation, the NorthWords Youth Book Award was created to recognize outstanding youth literature. Winners are announced during the festival at the NorthWords Gala. Both book awards include a $1,000 prize for the winner.

NorthWords is proud to present the 2018 nominees.

NTPC Youth Book Award Nominees

The Tree by the Woodpile and other Dene ‘Spirit of Nature Tales by Raymond Yakeleya
Published by Durvile Publications

When We Play Our Drums, They Sing by Richard Van Camp
Published by Mckellar and Martin

Fish for You and Fish for Me by Emily Jarvis illustrated by Krystal Mateus
Published by Sahtu Divisional Education Council

My First Hunt by Jake Basil illustrated by John Rombough
Published by Sahtu Divisional Education Council

NorthWords Book Award Nominees
(Sponsored by the Yellowknife Book Cellar)

Norths by Alison McCreesh
Published by Conundrum Press

Reawakening our Ancestors Lines by Angela Hovak Johnson
Published by Inhabit Media

One Good Thing by Rebecca Hendry
Published by Touchwood Editions

Aurora Up! by Bill Braden

The Mundane and the Holy by Libby Whittall Catling

Previous Recipients

  • Myth of the Barrens by Bren Kolson (2010)
  • The Caribou Feed Our Soul by Pete Enzoe and Mindy Willett (2011)
  • Body Trade by Margaret Macpherson (2012)
  • Nighthawk! by Jamie Bastedo (2013)
  • One of the most busiest ports in the North by Sandra Dolan (2014)
  • Kinds of Winter by Dave Olesen (2015)
  • Ramshackle by Alison McCreesh (2016)
  • How the Raven Returned the Sun by Crystal Doherty and Carla Taylor (2017)